The End of my Trip of a Life Time: Pisa, Florence and Rome

Well I am home now. I can’t believe this trip of a life time is over and it’s back to school and work for me.
But I am also so happy that I conquered this trip and this fear. It’s weird but I feel almost invincible but maybe that will go away. I conquered my biggest fear and the biggest “what if” scenario and gave me such confidence and determination that I can face any new and other “what if” moments that come my way. I would highly recommend this daunting but perfect experience for anyone who fears the unknown.

But here are also some pictures of the rest of my trip through Italy. I filled the rest of my vacation with seeing Pisa, Florence and finally Rome before I had to fly out and back to Canada.

I went to Pisa expecting to spend hours but that didn’t happen at all. Luckily I took the train in just for the day so I didn’t have to fill my day and night. I found that because the leaning tower, duomo and baptistery is right beside each other that I hit all the must-see points and I could go home hours before expected.

Even with how quickly I saw Pisa, I felt like a true tourist in Pisa and I loved it. I couldn’t not take a typical photo of me holding up the Leaning Tower.

Image

An interesting thing that I figured out in Pisa is the use of the baptistery. It was allowed for un-baptised people to come into the duomo or church. This means new borns or even people who are converting or were never baptised when they were younger. Until they were baptised they had a separate building.

Image

My impression of Pisa was that it was beautiful but everything that I wanted to see was so compact and close together that I found that I saw everything is a couple hours. But my impression of Florence is absolute beauty. I could spend days and days in Florence and it is incredible!

Firstly, the Florence duomo is famous for it’s extravagance and it is no lie. It is absolutely incredible, as you can see from this picture!Image

Another famous part of Florence is the Ponte Vecchio which is a bridge that has shops and stores on it as well as the walk way. This is something that I never see in Canada so it was incredible to see something this cool.

Image

Other parts of Florence that are must-sees are The Uffizi – an art gallery that holds a lot a well known paintings including “The Birth of Venus” and the Santa Croce. This is a very large church that holds tombs of many famous people including Niccolo Machiavelli and Michelangelo (known for the sculpture of David and the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel). But I really wanted to go see the tomb of Galileo Galilei.

Image

Fun fact: Galileo and his daughter had an amazing and loving relationship throughout their lives and she is also buried here in the tomb of Galileo Galilei…there commitment and love for each other has never ended.

And lastly, I went on my way to Rome. Rome was very overwhelming for an independent person but also overwhelming just because there was so much to see. I would highly recommend staying in Rome for multiple days so that you can allot time to spend time in the Colosseum and St. Peter’s Basilica in Vatican City and the many other sites of Rome.

Now, one thing I didn’t like of Rome, is that it is so full of tourists. Of course this is to be expected but at the same time it can be annoying with the long, long lines. Waiting to get into the Vatican and the Colosseum is hours long so pre-ordering your tickets are a must! Something I unfortunately didn’t do so I missed out on some amazing sites.

Image

The Pantheon of Rome

Image

Vatican City – St. Peter’s Basilica

Image

Ruins near the Colosseum

Image

The famous Colosseum

Image

The Trevi Fountain

Although Rome is so overwhelming and sometimes way too busy, there is just so much that I wanted to see but just didn’t have this so staying in Rome for a couple days is optimal but leaving Rome and seeing other, less busy cities is a must!

Anyway, now that I am home I just want to say thank you. Thank your for coming on this journey with me. Writing these posts helped me realize that I’m going on this trip for a reason and although I was by myself I still felt connected to all of you who read my pointless posts! So thank you!

My last statement about this trip is that I am so proud of myself and it has changed my confidence forever. Although being alone for three weeks and in a country that doesn’t speak English as a first language can allow you to feel isolated, I still think is was necessary for me to break out of my comfort zone. I also learned the importance of being alone and figuring things out for myself but I also learned how much the importance of being with others..others that you love. Sharing memories makes everything more special.

Arrivederci!

If you have any questions about my experience with this endeavour or about vacationing in Italy, let me know!

Leave a Reply

