Winterlude & Family Day.

This weekend was a very nice and relaxing long weekend. It was Family Day in Canada on Monday and was also the beginning of reading week for me. It was a nice way to finally get all of the school work off my back and just hang out with my family. We did everything we used to do when I was still living at home which was a nice break for me. I forgot how important letting the stress just roll off your shoulders is.

It is Winterlude here in Canada so there is lots of festivities everywhere in the city or Ottawa. The Rideau Canal was completely frozen over so skating was a must with my mother. The only one, other than me, that knows how to skate.

photo 4-2

It was about 7km each way and by the end of it my ankles were giving up. But it was worth it. The canal is a perfect place for kids and adults to skate when you want more than just a rink.

At night, there are concerts and ice sculptures around the city. Although it is always freezing here, it is so beautiful. It’s worth staying out in the cold and seeing this talent from all over the world.

Here is one of the winners.

Here is one of the winners.

photo 3-3

There are sculptures from all over the world…pretty impressive.

photo 4-3

No matter how cold it was, the concert was a cool vibe.

Coincidentally, it was also the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin wall. There was a party at the German embassy and many spray painters showed their talent. There was also amazing German beers and brews.Fotor0219133316And then, finally, on Family Day me and my family went cross country skiing. We have been skiing since I knew how to walk so it was relaxing to get back to my family traditions.

photo

Skiing in Gatineau Park.

So for those of you that have a Family Day holiday and for those of you that don’t, I hope that you spend time with your loved ones. Appreciate the comfort and support that they can give to you.

Hope you had a fabulous Family Day!

Leave a Reply

